Not to be confused with a written document, My Documents and Documents are Microsoft Windows folders that store computer documents and other files associated with programs on your computer. For example, when saving a file in Microsoft Word, the default folder is My Documents. Saving all your files into the My Documents folder makes them easier to backup and locate.

Documents, Home directory, Microsoft, My, My Computer, My Pictures, Operating system terms

Microsoft has changed “My Documents” to “Documents” in the most recent versions of Windows.

  • How to open the Windows My Documents or Documents folder.
  • Missing My Computer, My Network Places, or My Documents icon.
  • How to make the Windows My Computer icon the first icon.
  • How to clear Microsoft Windows most recent Documents.
  • How to find a file on a computer.